Candidates file for May 6 City Council election

Feb 17, 2017

Georgetown voters will head to the polls May 6 to elect a mayor as well as representatives for City Council in Districts 2 and 6.

Incumbent Mayor Dale Ross and Sherwin Kahn will be on the ballot for the mayor’s race. Valerie Nicholson and David Sray are running for the District 2 seat, and incumbent Rachael Jonrowe and Lawrence Romero will be on the ballot for District 6. Keith Brainard, incumbent District 2 council member, is not seeking re-election.

Today was the last day for candidates to file for a place on the ballot.

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms representing one of seven single-member districts. The mayor is elected at-large.

To see maps of council districts, go to

The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 6.

Early in-person voting is April 24 through May 2. In the Early Voting period, voters may cast ballots at any Early Voting location in Williamson County.

On Election Day on May 6, voters may cast ballots at any vote center location in Williamson County. Polling places, dates and times are listed at

For details about the city election, contact Shelley Nowling, city secretary for the City of Georgetown, at or (512) 930-3652.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email