Candidate Filing Period for May Election

Jan 18, 2017

The filing period starts today for candidates who wish to run for a seat on the Georgetown City Council. The places for District 2, District 6, and the mayor will be on the ballot for the election this spring.

Keith Brainard is the current council member for District 2, Rachael Jonrowe is the council member for District 6, and Dale Ross is the mayor.

Today Dale Ross filed to run for re-election as mayor, Rachael Jonrowe filed to run for re-election for District 6, and Valerie Nicholson filed to run for the District 2 seat on the council.

The filing period ends on February 17.  A packet of information for prospective candidates is available at City Hall at 113 E. Eighth Street. Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

To see maps of council districts, go to

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms representing one of seven single-member districts. The mayor serves a three-year term and is elected at-large. A candidate for city council or mayor must be 21 years of age and a citizen and qualified voter of the state of Texas and the City of Georgetown. Candidates for council district seats must be a resident of the council district the member would be representing for a period of twelve months as of the last legal date for filing.

The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 6.

Early in-person voting is April 24 through May 2. In the Early Voting period, voters may cast ballots at any Early Voting location in Williamson County.

On Election Day on May 6, voters may cast ballots at any vote center location in Williamson County. Polling places, dates, and times are listed at

For details about the city election, contact Shelley Nowling, city secretary for the City of Georgetown, at or (512) 930-3652.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email