Filing Period for Council Election Starts Jan. 28

Jan 28, 2015

The filing period starts today for candidates seeking one of two places on the Georgetown City Council. The May 9 election includes races for City Council candidates from District 1 and District 5. The last day to file for a place on the ballot is February 27.

A packet of information for prospective candidates is available at City Hall at 113 E. Eighth Street. Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Patty Eason is the current City Council member for District 1 and Jerry Hammerlun is the City Council member for District 5. Both have announced that they do not plan to seek re-election.

Click here to see maps of council districts.

Georgetown City Council members serve three-year terms representing one of seven single-member districts. A candidate for city council or mayor must be 21 years of age and a citizen and qualified voter of the state of Texas and the City of Georgetown. Candidates for council district seats must be a resident of the council district the member would be representing for a period of twelve months as of the last legal date for filing.

The last day to register to vote in the May election is April 9.

Early in-person voting will be April 27 through May 5. In the Early Voting period, voters may cast ballots at any Early Voting location in Williamson County.

On Election Day, voters may cast ballots at any vote center location in Williamson County. Polling places, dates, and times are listed at

For details about the city election, contact Jessica Brettle, city secretary for the City of Georgetown, at or (512) 930-3652.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email